Etowah’s Horton named region MVP

December 21, 2012 chris
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Several Etowah and Southside high school football players recently were named to the Class 5A, All-Region 7 team for the 2012 season.

A pair of EHS players received special honors. Junior running back Devin Horton was named Offensive MVP after totaling over 1,000 yards in rushing and receiving. In addition, senior tackle Jared Harris was selected Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Other Blue Devils named to the first team squad were senior running back Dominic Pinson, senior center Zack Dean, senior defensive end Cedric Childs, senior linebacker Dylan Tucker and senior cornerback Jay Duckett. 

First team Panthers included junior running backs Dantley Coker and Blake Devine, senior lineman Austin Snyder, junior lineman Baylon Stokes, senior linebacker Chase Nobles, sophomore defensive tackle Tyler Carr and sophomore defensive back Holt Keeling.

Freshman linebacker Hunter Armstrong was named Defensive Athlete.

Selected to the honorable mention team were Etowah’s Tyler Bishop and Xavier Caldwell and Southside’s Ryan Clark and Daulton Coker.