Glencoe’s Ozmint named Back of the Year finalist


By Chris McCarthy/Editor

Pace Ozmint recently earned yet another postseason honor. 

A week after making first team All-State for the third straight season, the Glencoe High senior was named a finalist for the Alabama Sports Writers Association Class 3A Back of the Year award. 

Ozmint’s fellow finalists are Piedmont quarterback Taylor Hayes and Colbert County running back Kearvae Qualls. 

The winner will be announced at the ASWA Player of the Year Banquet on Jan. 13 in Montgomery. The Back and Lineman of the year in their respective classes, along with the Mr. Football award and the ASWA’s Super 12 team, also will be revealed at the luncheon. The event is sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.

Ozmint served in a variety of roles for the 2015 Yellow Jackets. He finished with over 1,540 total yards and 16 touchdowns while starting at halfback, receiver and kick returner. On defense, he had a team-high 104 tackles (six for a loss) and three interceptions from his safety position. He also had four pass break-ups and two fumble recoveries. Ozmint helped Glencoe post a 9-2 record and make the state playoffs for the seventh straight year.

2015 ASWA Back/Linemen of the Year Finalists

Class 7A Back

Kyriq McDonald, James Clemens

La’Mical Perine, Theodore 

Henry Ruggs III, Lee-Montgomery 

Class 7A Lineman

Carlton Martial, McGill-Toolen 

Walter Pritchett, Central-Phenix City

Labryan Ray, James Clemens 

Class 6A Back

Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort 

Ty Pigrome, Clay-Chalkville 

T.J. Simmons, Clay-Chalkville

Class 6A Lineman

Deonte Brown, Austin 

Thomas Johnston, Spanish Fort

Lyndell Wilson, Carver-Montgomery

Class 5A Back

Jordan Bentley, Guntersville

Ostin McPherson, St. Paul’s 

Demarcus Williams, Jackson

Class 5A Lineman

Marlon Davidson, Greenville

Darius Whitfield, St. Paul’s

Quinnen Williams, Wenonah

Class 4A Back

Noah Ard, Cordova 

Kaleb Barker, Priceville 

Tre’ Nation, Leeds

Class 4A Lineman

Sterling Jones, St. James

Dee Nalls, Fayette Co. 

Josephus Smith, Leeds

Class 3A Back

Pace Ozmint, Glencoe 

Taylor Hayes, Piedmont

Kearvae Qualls, Colbert Co. 

Class 3A Lineman

Neonta Alexander, Piedmont 

Ben Davis, Gordo

Austin Troxell, Madison Aca.

Class 2A Back

Peyton Gilliland, Cleveland 

Dilan Kilpatrick, Fyffe

Chadarius Townsend, Tanner

Class 2A Lineman

Blaine Hudson, Elba

Ethan Jones, Fyffe

Austin Lewter, Tanner

Class 1A Back

Terrence Dunlap, Maplesville

Tommy Spivey, Brantley

Grayson Wakefield, Decatur Heritage

Class 1A Lineman

Cameron Longmire, Georgiana

Tanner Swinney, Hackleburg 

Devan Wallace, Maplesville

Latest News

Rotary Club welcomes Commissioner Pate to recent club meeting in Gadsden
City of Gadsden and Gadsden State continue partnership
Free events planned for Poetry Month
Pinwheel Ceremony brings awareness to child abuse advocacy
Downtown Walking tours now underway

Latest Sports News

Panthers clinch playoff berth with OT win over Springville
Lady Titans win area soccer title
Hokes Bluff to host area softball tournament
Panthers tops in 5A, Titans No. 2 in 6A in latest AHSAA coaches soccer rankings
Southside shows out at Oneonta meet