Runoff vote required for three races


 By Donna Thornton/News Editor

Runoff votes will be required in only three of the municipal elections held Aug. 28. Two city council races in Attalla and one in Hokes Bluff will bring voters back to the polls in those cities on Oct. 9.

Municipal elections found three incumbent mayors claiming their seats for another term and former state senator Larry Means winning the mayor’s seat he previously held for six years.

In Altoona’s only contested race, Mayor Richard Nash was reelected.

Charles “Peanut” Gilchrist in Glencoe, Gary W. Reeves in Hokes Bluff, and Terry John Calhoun in Rainbow City were all given another term as mayor.

In Ridgeville, Jerome Anderson was selected as the town’s mayor.

Runoff races will be required in two cities. Incumbent Karen Graves will face Kenneth Scissum in a run off for the District 1 council seat, while incumbent Virginia Smith will face Steve Gray in a runoff.

In Hokes Bluff, Danny F. Coffelt will face Wayne Whitt in a run off.

Here are unofficial vote totals for municipal election races (names in italics face a run-off election):

Altoona – Mayor: Richard Nash, 122; Jackie Ratliff, 22.

Attalla – Mayor: Charles Hawkins, 39; Larry Means, 1.074; Harvey Martin, 121; Donald Oliver, 313. District 1: Karen Graves, 126; Louise Rushon, 34; Kenneth Scissum, 118. District 2: Ron Catoe, 13; Kenneth R. Dixon, 106; Rhonda Hill West, 81. District 3: Ron Downey, 42; Terry McClain, 218; Randy Keith Rowan, 35. District 4: Glenn Ewing, 50; Steve Gray, 120; Virginia Smith, 146. Attalla Board of Education, District 1: Preston Nix, 144; Allen Snow, 133. Attalla Board of Education, District 5: Wyman Cash, 242; Dennis Quarles, 213.

Glencoe – Mayor: Charles “Peanut” Gilchrist, 742; Chris Hare, 598; Place 2: Dewayne Hare, 584; Johnny Chambers, 735; Place 4: Chris Sims, 783; Anthony “Tony” Jones, 542.

Hokes Bluff – Mayor: Gary W. Reeves, 812; Kathy Crane Ellzey, 124; Place 2: Danny F. Coffelt, 305; Cody Shaneyfelt, 18; Jeremy W. Hawkins, 246; Wayne Whitt, 345.

Rainbow City – Mayor: Terry John Calhoun, 1,038; Bob Collins, 628; Wayne Garmon, 144; Place 3: Lloyd Matthews, 885; Tim F. Ramsey, 891; Place 4: Larry Keenum, 1,101; Brian Stone, 678; Place 5: Rick Hill, 936; Kris Cornutt, 854.

Ridgeville – Mayor: Jerome Anderson, 27; Marcia Mahone, 4; CiCe Curry, 16.

Southside – Place 1: Kevin Stephens, 567; Richard McGowan, 415; Place 2: John Hatley, 603; Vicki Lister, 376; Place 3: Joey Jones, 694; Julia Berry Hill, 293; Place 4: Don Steward, 592; Harold W. Waddell, 385.

Latest News

County leaders celebrate the opening of The Venue 2
Rain improves drought conditions, burn ban lifted
Gadsden State wins statewide award for clean-up project
Christmas with the Cardinals being held December 14
Firehouse Subs Public Safety Foundation gives $16k grant to Ashville Fire Department

Latest Sports News

Conquerors come up short to Leroy in Class 1A state championship game
Westbrook senior highlights All-Messenger volleyball
In & around SEC football: conference title game review, postseason awards 
Etowah’s Farmer signs with Gadsden State
Southside High seniors sign college athletic scholarships