ASWA releases Sept. 3 high school football poll


Class 6A

1. Hoover 

2. Clay-Chalkville 

3. McGill-Toolen 

4. Auburn 

5. Opelika 

6. Tuscaloosa County 

7. Florence 

8. Carver-Montgomery

9. Mountain Brook

10. Vestavia Hills 

Others receiving votes: Bob Jones, Blount, Central-Phenix City, Dothan, Davidson, Fairhope, Oxford, Spain Park, Murphy, Shades Valley.

Class 5A

1. McAdory 

2. Spanish Fort 

3. Jackson 

4. Hartselle 

5. Muscle Shoals

6. Homewood 

7. Benjamin Russell 

8. Demopolis 

9. St.Paul’s

10. Vigor 

Others receiving votes:  Cullman, Athens, Fort Payne, Eufaula, Saraland Briarwood Christian, Pinson Valley, Selma 1.

Class 4A

1. Calera 

2t. UMS-Wright

2t. Charles Henderson 

4. Central-Clay Co. 

5. Oneonta 

6. Dadeville 

7. Beauregard 

8. Dora 

9. Madison Co. 

10. Cleburne Co. 

Others receiving votes: Thomasville, Andalusia, Tallassee, Munford, Central-Florence, J.O. Johnson.

Class 3A

1. Madison Academy 

2. Leeds 

3. Piedmont 

4. T.R. Miller 

5. Deshler 

6. Daleville 

7. Geraldine 

8. Fayette Co. 

9. Straughn 

10. Hamilton 

Others receiving votes: Opp, W.S. Neal, Lauderdale Co., Midfield, Pike Co., Colbert Co, Saks, Good Hope, Excel, Geneva, Hanceville.

Class 2A

1. Washington County

2. Tanner 

3. Oakman 

4. Mobile Christian

5. G.W. Long

6. Lanett 

7. Reeltown 

8. Fyffe 

9. Walter Wellborn

10. Lamar Co. 

Others receiving votes: Luverne, North Sand Mountain, Fultondale, Cottonwood, Woodland, Houston Academy, Leroy, Cherokee, Vincent.

Class 1A

1. Marion County

2. Pickens County

3. Maplesville 

4. Brantley 

5. Addison 

6. Geneva Co. 

7. Linden 

8. Berry 

9. Notasulga 

10. R.A. Hubbard 

Others receiving votes: Gaylesville, Hackleburg, Falkville, Hubbertville, Ragland, Sumiton Christian, Loachapoka, Florala, Georgiana, Lynn.

The Alabama Sports Writers Association prep committee members are: Paul Beaudry (Chairman), Alabama Media Group; Josh Bean,; Ed Bailey, Alexander City Outlook; Andrew Garner, Andalusia Star-News; Jonathan Deal, Athens News Courier; Brandon Miller, Anniston Star; Jeff Sentell, Birmingham News; Adam Robinson, Brewton Standard; Rob Rice, Blount Countian; Shannon Fagan, Cherokee Herald; Ross Wood, Clarke Co. Democrat; Rob Ketcham, Cullman Times; Jonathon Bentley, Daily Mountain Eagle; Justin Graves, Decatur Daily; David Mundee, Dothan Eagle; Lee Peacock, Evergreen Courant; Newton Peters, Florala News; Gregg Dewalt, Florence TimesDaily; Lew Gilliland, Fort Payne Times-Journal; Dennis Victory, Freelance (Birmingham); Chris McCarthy, Messenger (Gadsden); Nick Johnston, Gadsden Times; Daniel Boyette, Huntsville Times; Ben Thomas, Mobile Press-Register; Stacy Long, Montgomery Advertiser; Robert Carter, North Jefferson News; Jason Galloway, Opelika-Auburn News; Shannon Allen, Sand Mountain Reporter; Jason Bowen, Scottsboro Daily Sentinel; Lavonte Young, Talladega Daily Home; Cory Diaz, Tallassee Tribune; Andrew Carroll, Tuscaloosa News; Griffin Pritchard, Wetumpka Herald. 


Latest News

YMCA’s Father Daughter Dance coming Saturday
Ivey appoints Gallardo to the State Arts Council
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Alabama celebrates Mardi Gras and fundraising
GSCC offering new work-based apprenticeship
GSCC student selected for leadership program

Latest Sports News

Ashville wrestlers finish runner-up at state
Southside soccer teams sweep RBC Classic
Titans post clean sheet while winning Falcon Fest
Gaston thins out Herd, heads to regional finals
Southside schools Moody, heads back to regional finals