In & around SEC football – postseason awards


By Cole Frederick/Sports Correspondent
SEC Championship
Game Review
LSU remained perfect on the season as the Tigers cruised past Georgia 37-10 in the SEC title game. Quarterback Joe Burrow likely clinched the Heisman Trophy several weeks ago, but he left no room for any doubt on Saturday in Atlanta. Burrow threw for 349 yards and four touchdowns he connected with Justin Jefferson seven times for 115 yards and a score. The Tigers (13-0, 9-0) clinched the top spot in the College Football Playoff rankings and will take on Oklahoma in the first semifinal. The convincing win allowed LSU to leapfrog Ohio State to take over the No. 1 ranking, so the Buckeyes now must play Clemson in the other semifinal. This is LSU’s first SEC title since 2011 and Ed Orgeron’s first league championship as a head coach.

First team offense
Joe Burrow, LSU
Running back
Clyde Edwards-Helaire, LSU
D’Andre Swift, Georgia
Ja’Marr Chase, LSU; DeVonta Smith, Alabama; Justin Jefferson, LSU
Tight end
Kyle Pitts, Florida
Trey Smith, Tennessee Jedrick Wills, Alabama Andrew Thomas, Georgia Damien Lewis, LSU
Drake Jackson, Kentucky
Lynn Bowden, Kentucky
Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
First team defense
Derrick Brown, Auburn Marlon Davidson,
Jonathan Greenard
Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina
Anfernee Jennings, Alabama
Daniel Bituli, Tennessee K’Lavon Chaisson, LSU
C.J. Henderson, Florida Xavier McKinney,
J.R. Reed, Georgia
Derek Stingley, LSU
Grant Delpit, LSU
Braden Mann, Texas A&M
Kick returner
Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
Second team offense
Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama
Running back
Kylie Hill, Mississippi State
Najee Harris, Alabama
Bryan Edwards, South Carolina
Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
Jauan Jennings, Tennessee
Tight end
Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
Logan Stenburg, Kentucky
Deonte Brown, Alabama, Isaiah Wilson, Georgia
Trey Hill, Georgia
Second team defense
Tyler Clark, Georgia Rashard Lawrence, LSU Benito Jones, Ole Miss Calvin Taylor, Kentucky
Nick Bolton, Missouri K.J. Britt, Auburn
Terrell Lewis, Alabama
Nigel Warrior, Tennessee Jeremiah Dinson, Auburn Jacoby Stevens, LSU Trevon Diggs, Alabama
Player of the Year
Joe Burrow, LSU
Coach of the Year
Ed Orgeron, LSU
Newcomer of the Year
Bo Nix, Auburn
Defensive Player of the Year
Derrick Brown, Auburn

Latest News

County leaders celebrate the opening of The Venue 2
Rain improves drought conditions, burn ban lifted
Gadsden State wins statewide award for clean-up project
Christmas with the Cardinals being held December 14
Firehouse Subs Public Safety Foundation gives $16k grant to Ashville Fire Department

Latest Sports News

Conquerors come up short to Leroy in Class 1A state championship game
Westbrook senior highlights All-Messenger volleyball
In & around SEC football: conference title game review, postseason awards 
Etowah’s Farmer signs with Gadsden State
Southside High seniors sign college athletic scholarships