Ford retained as House Minority Leader


The Alabama House Democratic Caucus met on Nov. 6 for its organizational meeting to elect caucus leadership for the next four years.

The caucus retained Representative Craig Ford (D-Gadsden) as Minority Leader and elected Representative Darrio Melton (D-Selma) as Caucus Chair. 

“I am honored to have the opportunity to serve another term as House Minority Leader,” Ford said. “House Democrats are ready to reach across the aisle and work together on our common interests of creating jobs and providing every child in Alabama with a quality education.”

Melton added that he’s excited to step into a leadership role within the caucus to encourage more young people to get involved. 

“We have to move beyond the old ways of doing business and become a body that’s looking towards the future.”

Among the others elected to caucus leadership are Representative Barbara Boyd (D-Anniston), who was re-elected Caucus Vice Chair, and Representative Richard Lindsey (D-Centre), who was re-elected secretary-treasurer. Representative Chris England (D-Tuscaloosa) was elected minority whip, along with Representatives Adline Clark (D-Mobile) and Patricia Todd (D-Birmingham) in whip places one and two.

Representative Thomas Jackson (D-Thomasville), former caucus chair, has been elected to serve on the Caucus’ policy committee as member at large. Representatives Merika Coleman-Evans (D-Birmingham) and Marcel Black (D-Tuscumbia) were chosen for the two appointed positions on the Caucus’ policy committee.

Latest News

WEEKEND PLANS: Pedal boat operation now open in Gadsden
Annual Memorial Day event planned for Monday
City of Gadsden launches new text-based 911 feature to assist callers, first responders
City of Gadsden honors nation's fallen with memorial flag displays
Outstanding students honored at Honors Day in Gadsden

Latest Sports News

Locals make all-state soccer teams
All-Etowah County Schools softball released
All-Etowah County Schools baseball announced
Local players named to all-area baseball team
Local athletes, coaches named to compete in North/South games