In & around SEC football: conference title game review, postseason awards 


By Cole Frederick/Sports Correspondent 

Championship Recap
Nick Saban has not lost an SEC championship game since his second season in Tuscaloosa, and that trend did not change last Saturday as his Crimson Tide upset No. 1 Georgia, 27-24. Ala-bama entered the game as a 5-point underdog, but quarterback Jalen Milroe and the UA offense made just enough plays to hold off a late Bulldog rally. Milroe threw for 192 yards and two touchdowns, while Isaiah Bond caught five passes for 79 yards, including a pivotal fourth down catch right before halftime that led to an Alabama touchdown. The upset win propelled Alabama to the No. 4 team in the College Football Playoff, leapfrogging undefeated Florida State in a controversial decision from the committee. Alabama will take on No. 1 Michigan in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1 in the first semifinal, and the winner will meet either Washington or Texas in the national championship game.
SEC postseason awards
Player of the Year: Jaylen Daniels, LSU
Coach of the Year: Eli Drinkwitz, Missouri
Defensive Player of the Year: Nathaniel Watson, Mississippi State
Freshman of the Year: Caleb Downs, Alabama
First team offense
Quarterback Jaylen Daniels, LSU
Running back: Cody Shrader, Missouri; Ray Davis, Kentucky
Wide receiver: Malik Nabers, LSU; Luther Burden III, Missouri
Tight End: Brock Bowers, Georgia
Line: Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia; J.C. Latham, Alabama; Tate Ratledge, Georgia; Will Campbell, LSU; Javon Foster, Missouri
Kicker: Will Reichard, Alabama
First team defense
Line: Darius Robinson, Missouri; James Pearce, Te-nnessee; Landon Jackson, Arkansas; Justin Eboigbe, Alabama
Linebacker: Nathaniel Watson, Mississippi State; Dallas Turner, Alabama; Edgerrin Cooper, Texas A&M
Defensive back: Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama; Malaki Starks, Georgia; Terrion Arnold, Alabama; Caleb Downs, Alabama
Punter: Matthew Hayball, Vanderbilt
All-purpose: Ainias Smith, Texas A&M
Second team offense
Quarterback: Carson Beck, Georgia
Running back: Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss; Jarquez Hunter, Auburn
Wide receiver: Xavier Legette, South Carolina; Brian Thomas, LSU
Tight end: Rivaldo Fairweather, Auburn
Line: Eli Cox, Kentucky; Layden Robinson, Texas A&M; Emery Jones, LSU; Xavier Truss, Georgia; Tyler Booker, Alabama
Second team defense
Line: Mykel Williams, Georgia; Nazir Stackhouse, Georgia; Shemar Turner, Texas A&M; Princely Uma-nmielen, Florida
Linebacker: Harold Perkins, LSU; Ty’Ron Hopper, Missouri; Smael Mondon, Georgia
Defensive back: Kris Abrams-Draine, Missouri; Jaylin Simpson, Auburn; Kamari Lassiter, Georgia; Maxwell Hairston, Kentucky


Latest News

Gadsden police getting 15 new cars
GSCC nursing program achieves 100 percent pass rate
Local fourth graders have fun at annual Water Festival
Gadsden approves forming separate 911 district
Alabama Teachers Credit Union announces name change

Latest Sports News

Sardis shines at Albertville meet
Lady Eagles rally past Gadsden City
Southside sweeps first-ever county soccer tournament
Gaston can’t catch up to Lafayette in regional championship
Lady Panthers fade late against Scottsboro in regional finals