Gadsden High School Gold Tigers host 17th annual reunion


The 17th annual Gadsden High School “Gold Tiger Club” was held at Convention Hall in Gadsden on June 15 from 5:30 until 10 p.m.

The Class of 1962 proudly presented this annual reunion featuring those who have been graduated from Gadsden High School for 50 years or more. The Class of 1963 was honored this evening as they celebrated their 50th reunion.

This was the 17th anniversary of the Gold Tiger Club. The Class of 1946 started the club honoring the Class of 1947. Graduates look forward to coming back each year and seeing old friends. They come from near and far.

The Reunion Committee was composed of graduates from the Class of 1962, which celebrated their 50th reunion last year. The committee consisted of Co-Chairmen Judy Rubel Atkins and Phil Phillips, and committee members Charlotte Beard Brown, Steve Lambert, Allen and Martha Byran, Don Nelms and Phil Walton.

There were over 500 members in attendance.

The auditorium was decorated with lots of orange and black with vases of tiger lilies and greenery on all tables, making it another festive occasion.

The first hour was spent renewing old acquaintances and greeting former classmates. Graduates from the classes of 1932 to 1963 were in attendance.

Phil Walton called the meeting to order and welcomed the group.

The class of 1963 was asked to stand so they could be recognized as the newest members of The Gold Tiger Club. Weldon Curry led the Pledge of Allegiance. Remarks- Class of 1963 was given by Jack Riley and Invocation by Mike Sharp, and was followed by the group singing the Alma Mater.

For the 17th time, David Ayres and his crew from Tony’s café served another delicious buffet. After dinner the group was entertained by “The Kings of Swing.” This was also a time that classmates visited other tables and renewed old friendships. It was a wonderful evening.

The 18th annual Gold Tiger Club Reunion will be held on Saturday, June 14, 2014, honoring the Class of 1964.

The Gold Tiger Advisory Board consisted of Jerry Heard, chairman; Carl Harrison, vice-chairman, and Anne McNabb, secretary. Charter members are Jean Johnson Estes, Marie Sharpton Rich and Elene Sparks Chastain, Class of 1946.

Latest News

Local veteran celebrates 99th birthday
Ford announces candidacy for Mayor of Gadsden 
Airport runway expansion announced
United Way Day of Action a success
Record turnout expected for Gadsden High reunions

Latest Sports News

Casting on the Coosa - Fairy wands, frog jigs and turkey calls
Etowah well represented on All-Messenger baseball team
Local thrower steps up on national stage
Casting on the Coosa - No injured reserved list for The Surgeon
Ashville's Drinkard, Westbrook's Henry highlight All-Messenger track and field teams