In & around SEC basketball – Final Four recap


By Cole Frederick/Sports Correspondent
Auburn’s historic run to the Final Four ended with the ultimate heartbreak.
In the semifinals against No. 1 seed Virginia, the Tigers trailed 57-47. AU proceeded to go on a 14-0 run to take a 61-57 lead with 17 seconds remaining. Virginia guard Kyle Guy buried a 3-pointer in the corner to close the gap to 61-60, but a foul sent Auburn’s Jared Harper to the free throw line for a one-and-one. Harper sank the first to give the Tigers a 62-60 lead but missed the second attempt.
Auburn had two fouls to give and used both with under seven seconds remaining. Before the second foul, Bryce Brown forced what appeared to be a turnover as Ty Jerome double-dribbled. It was not called, however, and Virginia set up a play with less than two seconds remaining. Guy launched a shot from the opposite corner of his previous shot, and the ball sailed long and the game appeared to be over. Unfortunately for Auburn, the officials called a foul on Samir Doughty, and Guy was awarded three free throws. He calmly sank all three, and a desperation attempt at the buzzer by AU missed as Virginia advanced to the championship game.
It was a devastating conclusion to a remarkable season for Auburn. In fact, it was the best season in Auburn basketball history. The Tigers set the single-season record for wins with 30 and made the Final Four for the first time in school history. The Final Four appearance came three weeks after winning the conference tournament championship for only the second time in school history.
In the other national semifinal, Texas Tech knocked off Michigan State, 61-51. Two days later, the Red Rai-ders had a three-point lead over Virginia with less than a minute to play. Cavalier forward De’Andre Hunter buried a three to tie the game, and the Hoos won in overtime 85-77 to capture the first national championship in school history.
SEC Postseason Awards
Player of the Year
Grant Williams, Tennessee
Coach of the Year
Bruce Pearl, Auburn
Newcomer of the Year
Tyler Herro, Kentucky
Defensive Player of Year
Tremont Waters, LSU
First Team
Jared Harper, Jr., Auburn; Quindary Weatherspoon, Sr., Mississippi State; Tre-mont Waters, So., LSU
Grant Williams, Jr., Tennessee; P.J. Washington, So., Kentucky
Second Team
Breein Tyree, Jr., Ole Miss; Bryce Brown, Sr., Auburn
Admiral Schofield, Sr., Te-nnessee; Daniel Gafford, So., Arkansas; Chris Silva, Sr., South Carolina
Third Team
Terence Davis, Sr., Ole Miss; Jordan Bone, Jr., Te-nnessee; Tyler Herro, Fr., Kentucky
Chuma Okeke, So., Auburn; Naz Reid, Fr., LSU
All-Freshman Team
Tyler Herro, Kentucky; Kira Lewis, Alabama; Keldon Johnson, Kentucky
Reggie Perry, Mississippi State; Naz Reid, LSU
All-Defensive team
Ashton Hagans, Fr., Kentucky; Tremont Waters, So., LSU
Donta Hall, Sr., Alabama; Daniel Gafford, So., Arkansas; Chris Silva, Sr., South Carolina

Latest News

Etowah High senior kicks cancer, raises money for research
Family Success Center purchasing building from city
GSCC’s application period for scholarships closes today
David King running for election March 5
Downtown walking tours to begin in April

Latest Sports News

Sardis shines at Albertville meet
Lady Eagles rally past Gadsden City
Southside sweeps first-ever county soccer tournament
Gaston can’t catch up to Lafayette in regional championship
Lady Panthers fade late against Scottsboro in regional finals