Outstanding students honored at Honors Day in Gadsden


Gadsden State Community College recently held its 58th annual Honors Day at Wallace Hall Fine Arts Center for students attending campuses in Gadsden and Centre. The program included student achievements and scholarship presentations.
A second Honors Day was held in the Learning Resource Center at the Ayers Campus for students attending that campus. Over 300 awards and scholarships were given at the Honors Days, which spanned two days in April.

Traditionally one of the highest honors presented each spring is the Allen-Ray Award. The award, which has been presented at every Honors Day program over the past 58 years, is presented in honor of the late Sen. James B. Allen and the late Jack Ray, former CEO of the Exchange Bank of Alabama. Both men were active supporters of Gadsden State.
Chris Ray, a relative of Jack Ray, presented the 2024 Allen-Ray Award to Sebella Henry.

Henry is the president of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society as well as a volunteer tutor in math and computer literacy for Adult Education Services. She was on the 2024 Gadsden State Homecoming Court and has volunteered at the Cardinal Gala, Candy with the Cardinals, G-Day and Get on Board Day. She also serves as a reading tutor at Donehoo Elementary School and volunteers with hospice organizations and senior centers.

Henry is a member of the All-Alabama Academic Team and was named a Coca-Cola Scholar. She was a Gadsden State representative at the recent PTK international convention, where the local PTK chapter was recognized as a Five-Star Chapter and won the Distinguished College Project Award for the work done at an Etowah Chamber event for local teachers, counselors and administrators.

In addition to winning the most prestigious award, Henry was also named a Student of Distinction and was awarded scholarships to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the University of Alabama, Athens State University and Jacksonville State University.

Henry graduated on May 9 with an Associate of Science in General Studies. She plans to attend UAB to earn bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mathematics education.

The President’s Cup, a designated award for students who demonstrate exceptional success in all phases of college life, is presented each year to students in the academic, health science and technical divisions. It is given by Dr. Kathy Murphy, president of Gadsden State.

The Academic Division recipient for the Etowah County campuses and Gadsden State Cherokee is Harrison Glenn of Rainbow City. He is a vice president of PTK and joins Henry as Gadsden State’s two representatives on the All-Alabama Academic Team. As a Gadsden State Ambassador, Glenn has led over 50 tours for prospective students and has volunteered at many college events, including graduations, Cardinal Commit and Candy with the Cardinals. In addition to winning the President’s Cup at Honors Day, he earned the Student of Distinction designation and received scholarships to JSU and UA. Glenn graduated May 9 with an associate degree in general studies. He will attend the University of Alabama to pursue bachelor’s and master’s degrees in business administration.

2024 marks the addition of a President’s Cup exclusively for a student in the Health Science Division. The winner is Joshua McKenzie, a non-traditional student in the Nursing Program. McKenzie is a former SWAT team leader, patrol supervisor and combat veteran. At Gadsden State, he is a member of PTK and serves as the president of his nursing cohort. The Anniston resident was also recognized with the Student of Distinction Award on Honors Day. In December, McKenzie will graduate with a degree in nursing and plans to work in Intensive Care. He hopes to continue his education and earn credentials to be a nurse anesthetist.

The recipient of the President’s Cup for the Technical Division is both a Gadsden State student and an employee. Kyle Roberts of Boaz worked in the Maintenance Department while working towards a degree in Electrical Technology, which he earned on May 9. The father of four has maintained a 4.0 GPA and has remained on the President’s List each semester. He plans to continue working at Gadsden State to use the skills he has learned. On Honors Day, Roberts also received the Student of Distinction Award.

Four area students were presented awards for outstanding achievement. The Outstanding Achievement Awards recognize students who have succeeded in pursuit of higher education despite varying traumas, adversities, personal losses and difficulties.
The Outstanding Achievement Awards given at the Wallace Drive Campus event went to Ashley Shaddix of Eastaboga, Cassie Bergstresser of Anniston, Gregorio Antonio of Gadsden and Taylor Edmondson of Gadsden.

Students recognized with the Rising Scholar Award are Alie Taylor, Bo Brown, Brandon Fears, Celina Norton, Christopher Wimpee, Clarissa Williams, Dalton Chestnut, Destini Bradley, Dontarius Coleman, Elisha Sims, Emalee Morrison, Emily roe, Hadassa Dourado, Jackson Christopher Primm, Jazmine Fomby, Kadence Priest, Karinsa Morgan, Katelinn McKerley, Kaylee Green, Kelsey Cooper, Layla Hammett, Leah Campbell, Leathia Marshall, Lillian McDill, Logan Watts, Macee New, Maggie Rebarchik, Makenzi Collins, Randi Morgan, Stephanie Maldonado, Thomas Cole Jackson, Tiffany Rae Savin, Yasmin Brenner Fody and Zoe Highfield.

Students from the Gadsden campuses or Gadsden State Cherokee earning the Student of Distinction Award are Ashley Shaddix, Christian Proper, Austin Lambert, Clarissa Williams, Harrison Glenn, Jessica Brumblow, Joshua McKenzie, Nora Bunke, Tyson Trammell, Taylor Edmondson, Ashley Hawk, Avery McRay, Brandon Fears, Brittany White, Caitlin Simone O’Neal, Chase Lopas, Claire Williams, Clark Vincent Oliphant, Conner Faulkner, Corrieanna Renee Underwood, Daniel Brown, Denedria Ash Baba, Domingo Andres Jr., Emily Phillips, Haya Ghazal, Hugh Moore, Jacob Davis, Jordan Clark, Katy Minton, Kaylee Leeanne Dove, Kendra Perry, Madilyn Layfield, Madison Atchley, Mia Bailey, Nadage Oyeket, Randal Scott Cortez II, Saibri Ross, Saloni Patel, Sebella Henry, Skot Rodgers, Summer Zamora, Tiffany Durham, Timothy William Guice and William Kyle Roberts.

Paralegal Studies students were recognized for their inclusion in Lambda Epsilon Chi National Honor Society, which is for those who have demonstrated superior academic performance with at least a 3.25 overall GPA and at least a 3.5 GPA in paralegal classes. Students are Alexis Rodriguez, Aubrey Ball, Christina Hollis, Emily Anne Garmon, Nora Kristine Bunke, Riley Michelle Hull and Yolanda Melson Peters.

Latest News

Advanced Manufacturing Center now open
Chamber hosts legislative summit
Young ladies selected for Annual Bal d'Or
STEAM Camp inspires female innovators
ADEM funding for drinking water, sewer projects surpasses $1 billion

Latest Sports News

Ashville grad leaves mark in AHSAA record book
Gadsden State student-athletes make ACCC honor roll
New Gadsden State cross country coach excited for 2024 season
AHSAA names new executive director
Area players make ASWA All-State baseball