The Vagabond – History of Gadsden city officials


Robert Kyle, First Mayor – 1867.

Officials as of June 9, 1876: Mayor: J. H. Disque; Aldermen: J. S. Paden, W. C. Liddell, W. T. Golightly, Jesse Mayne and W. N. Meeks; Town Marshall: M. M. Hughes; and City Clerk: D. B. Hicks.

Officials as of 1877 (Fiscal yr. March 1 to Feb. 28): Mayor: J. H. Disque; Aldermen: Joseph Bevans, W. T. Golightly, R. W. Whisenant, Wm. Christopher and J. R. Hughes.

Officials as of 1878: Mayor: Joseph Bevans; Aldermen: R. Hughes – lst Ward, T. B. Smith – 2nd Ward, R. W. Whisenant – 3rd Ward, W. W. Wilburn – 4th Ward and Wm. Christopher – 5th Ward.

Officials as of 1879: Mayor: Joseph Bevans; Aldermen: S. R. Price – 1st Ward, T. B. Smith – 2nd Ward (soon resigned and Mr. Herzberg elected who later resigned and Capt. Barret elected), B. Kittrell – 3rd Ward, J. G. Martin – 4th Ward and Wm. Christopher -5th Ward.

Officials as of 1880: Mayor: W. H. Standifer; Aldermen: W. J. Sibert – 1st Ward (resigned in September and W. P. Wilson elected in November), C. Dunn – 2nd Ward, Robert A. D. Dunlap – 3rd Ward, J. T. Martin – 4th Ward and Wm. Christopher – 5th Ward.

Officials as of 1881: Mayor: W. H. Standifer; Aldermen: John S. Paden – 1st Ward, Warren Backus – 2nd Ward, Robert H. Milam – 3rd Ward (resigned in December and W. P. Lay elected), S. W. Riddle – 4th Ward (resigned at first meeting and A. Harris elected by the Board) and M. L. Foster – 5th Ward.

Officials as of 1882: Mayor: McDougald Nesbit won the election but died before taking office. D. W. Beeson took office (died while in office and J. T. Brooks elected by the Board in July). Aldermen: J. R. Hughes (son of Gabriel Hughes) – 1st Ward, Warren Backus – 2nd Ward, W. P. Lay – 3rd Ward, Patrick Walsh – 4th Ward and W. M. Browning (James Allen’s grandfather) – 5th Ward (resigned when elected St. Overseer in August. Mike McCartney elected to fill vacancy and declined. Col. R. B. Kyle then elected).

Officials as of 1883 (elected for 2 yr. term – new charter): Mayor: J. T. Brooks; Aldermen: J. R. Hughes – 1st Ward, H. Herzberg – 2nd Ward, W. S. Standifer – 3rd Ward (resigned Aug. 1884, R. A. Dunlap elected), J. S. Cunningham – 4th Ward and R. B. Kyle – 5th Ward (Resigned June, 1884 – Lawrence Smith elected).

Officials as of 1885: Mayor: Wm. H. Standifer; Aldermen: James Millsap (?) – lst Ward (Resigned May, l886 – John S. Paden elected), W. L. Echols – 2nd Ward, T. B. Gwin – 3rd Ward (Resigned April 2, 1885 – W. L. Aycock succeeded him and then later moved from Ward and was succeeded by W. P. Lay), John B. Liddell – 4th Ward and J. R. Ward – 5th Ward (May have been P. M. McCall’s brother-in-law).

Officials as of 1887: Mayor: John H. Disque; Aldermen: John S. Paden – 1st Ward, J. M. Chadwick – 2nd Ward, John Flynn – 3rd Ward (Resigned July, 1888 – W. A. Cocheran elected but declined and W. P. Lay elected in September), A. L. Glenn – 4th Ward and John P. Ralls, Jr. – 5th Ward.

Officials as of 1889: Mayor: John P. Ralls, Jr.; Aldermen: Joseph R. Hughes – 1st Ward, Wm. L. Echols – 2nd Ward, Walter S. Standifer – 3rd Ward, James C. Tolson – 4th Ward and John B. Liddell – 5th Ward (tie between W. G. Brockway and John B. Liddell – Liddell elected by the Aldermen). Officials as of 1891: Mayor: L. Cunningham.

More mayors next week!

Latest News

St. James celebrates beloved teacher
Gadsden State hires first chief of police
Trio of events coming to town Friday, Saturday
Glencoe city leaders recognize National Library Week
Southside Public Library gearing up for summer reading program

Latest Sports News

Pratt, Ayala, Cornutt highlight All-Greater Gadsden Area boys soccer team
Westbrook’s Keene takes top honor on All-Greater Gadsden Area girls soccer team
Gadsden State cagers sign with four-year schools
Johnson leaving lasting impression at Sardis
New Gadsden City AD, coaches share vision for basketball programs