Gadsden State honors top graduates

Megan Clark. Submitted photo.

 Gadsden State Community College recently held its annual Honor’s Day events in Gadsden at the Wallace Hall Fine Arts Center and in Anniston at the McClellan Center.

The events span two days of recognizing student’s achievements and scholarship presentations. Over 140 students were honored and more than $200,000 was awarded in scholarships.

Traditionally one of the highest honors presented each spring is the Allen-Ray Award.  The award is presented in honor of the late Senator James B. Allen and the late Jack Ray, former CEO of the Exchange Bank of Alabama. Both men were active supporters of Gadsden State.  

Michael Thomas Buckley of Auburn is the recipient of the 2012 Allen-Ray Award.  While attending Gadsden State, Buckley has been on the President’s List for four consecutive semesters celebrating a 4.0 GPA.  He was also chosen to represent Gadsden State at the Lonnie E. Mitchell Behavioral Health Policy Academy in Houston, Tex., and a summer fisheries internship at the University of Arkansas. Buckley volunteers as a tutor with Student Support Services at Gadsden State.  He plans to major in marine biology this fall when he transfers to the University of Tampa.

The President’s Cup, a designated award for a student who demonstrates exceptional success in all phases of college life, was presented to Meagan Anelia Clark of Glencoe and Lakeisha Renee Barclay of Anniston for the Academic Division.

Emily Meagan Stephens and Lisa Ruiz, both of Oxford, received the award in the Technical Division.  
Clark was chosen as a member of the All-Alabama Academic Team and was an Academic All-American for the 2010–2011 cross country season.  

Barclay is a work-study student in the Financial Aid Department and volunteers with Student Support Services. Stephens is a member of the National Technical Honor Society and Phi Theta Kappa.  

Ruiz is also a member of the National Technical Honor Society and recently competed in the residential wiring division of the SkillsUSA Competition.

Three students were presented awards for outstanding achievement, including Samantha Dawn Hairston of Dawson, Stephany Sollohub of Jacksonville and Myra Jean Hulsey of Anniston.  Hairston is majoring in electrical technology and is a member of the National Technical Honor Society.  Sollohub is a member of Phi Theta Kappa and plans to be a nurse. Hulsey is majoring in electrical technology and has been on the President’s List for four consecutive semesters.

Latest News

Rotary Club welcomes Commissioner Pate to recent club meeting in Gadsden
City of Gadsden and Gadsden State continue partnership
Free events planned for Poetry Month
Pinwheel Ceremony brings awareness to child abuse advocacy
Downtown Walking tours now underway

Latest Sports News

Panthers clinch playoff berth with OT win over Springville
Lady Titans win area soccer title
Hokes Bluff to host area softball tournament
Panthers tops in 5A, Titans No. 2 in 6A in latest AHSAA coaches soccer rankings
Southside shows out at Oneonta meet