New officials announced after local elections


By Sarrah Peters, News Editor

Several area municipalities have new leaders after the election on Tuesday, August 23. Other positions face runoff elections.


In Attalla, Larry Means remains mayor, as he ran unopposed.

In District 1, Kenneth Scissum, 60 votes, and Myrna Baker, 48 votes, will face a runoff election. Karen Graves, James Parker, Jr. and Charles Knight also ran for the position.

In District 2, Kenneth R. Dixon, 49 votes, and Anthony Cylar, 29 votes, face a runoff election. Brad Dawson Howard and Jenean Hicks Williams also ran for the District 2 councilman office.

In District 3, Donald Oliver, 102 votes, defeated incumbent Terry McClain, 98 votes, in a very close race.

In District 4, Virginia Smith, 122 votes, won the seat without need for a runoff by one vote. Because of how close the race was, she may face a runoff with challenger Steve Gray, 63 votes, after four provisional ballots are examined next week. Steve Sykes also ran for the District 4 seat.

In District 5, Bob Cross, 167 votes, defeated challenger Timothy Daniel Harper, 80 votes.


Charles Gilchrist, 512 votes, remained the Glencoe mayor defeating challenger Reggie Roberts, 154 votes.

The District 2 city councilposition was the only other one on the ballot. Chris Hare, 394 votes, defeated incumbent Johnny Chambers, 279 votes.

Rainbow City

The only opposed position was the Rainbow City Council District 5 seat. Rick Hill, 499 votes, defeated Lloyd Matthews, 438 votes.

Hokes Bluff

Scott Reeves, 879 votes, was elected mayor over Jeff Cheatwood, 407 votes. Cheatwood was placed in the position after Mayor Gary Reevespassed away.

The District 2 city council seat went to Larry Sandlin, 969 votes, who ran against Wayne Whitt, 303 votes. Scott Hassell, 791 votes, won the District 3 position over Danny Coffelt, 464 votes. In District 4, Garry Young, 1068 votes, defeated Dale Jakiel, 168 votes. In District 5, Eric Estes, 974 votes, defeated Michael Elrod, 283 votes.


The Southside city council District 1 position faces a runoff election between Genny Ford Ball, 335 votes, and Danny L. Garnett, 308 votes. Chad Baker, Ed Thatcher and Kevin Stephens also ran. In District 5, Dana Snyder, 559 votes, narrowly defeated Randell Tallent, 542 votes.

Reece City

In Reece City, two first time candidates ran for mayor. Phil Colegrove, 68 votes, defeated Steve Wagnon, 4 votes.


Russell Amos, 184 votes, defeated incumbent Terry Stephens,100 votes, for the position of mayor. Scott Seabrooks also ran for the position.

For the city council District 4 position, Chris Royal, 195 votes, defeated challengerJames Clay, 93 votes. In District 5, Lucas Hallmark, 211 votes, defeated Zack Gorham, 74 votes.


For the city council District 2 seat, Jill Bright, 867 votes, defeated challenger Kay Johnson, 441 votes. In District 4, Ray Kennamer, 664 votes, defeated incumbent Carolyn Croup, 655 votes, in a close race.


Leigh Dollar, 1114 votes, defeated George Gillen, 780 votes, for the mayor position.

In the city council District 1 race, Sanchez Watkins, 88 votes, willface Samuel Stewart, 74 votes, in a runoff election. Tommy Dewberry also ran for the District 1 position. In District 2, Philip B. Kelley, 228 votes, defeated Larry Wilson, 129 votes. In District 3, Lee Carr, 141 votes, defeated John Myers, 120 votes. In District 7, Randy Whitaker, 190 votes, defeated Martin Hester, 142 votes.


The Boaz mayorial race will  go to a runoff election between David Dyar, 980 votes, and incumbent Tim Walker, 627 votes. Bubba Riddle, 594 votes, also ran for the position.

In the Boaz city council District 1 race, David Ellis, 1275 votes, defeated challenger Darrel Parker, 893 votes. In District 2, Rodney Frix, 764 votes,  and Jeff Davis, 622 votes, will go to a runoff election. Alan Hales and Kevin Ellis also ran for the District 2 position. In District 3, Johnny Willis, 1135 votes, defeated Jerry Battles, 1045 votes. In District 4, Heath Wilson, 742 votes, will have a runoff election against Jeff Sims, 728 votes. Thomas Underwood also ran for the District 4 position. In District 5, Mike Matthews, 1242 votes, defeated Van Scott, 730 votes, and A.G. Lang, 223 votes.

Latest News

Gadsden breaks ground on new fire station
Local YMCA offers water safety tips
Blue Cross announces school grant program
Kids Korner — The Magic Box
Southside celebrates opening of new fire station

Latest Sports News

Area players make ASWA All-State baseball
Local players make ASWA all-state softball
Local baseball squad wins 6U state championship, finishes season as top ranked team in the country
Area schools affected by realignment, CBR
Matt Harris back at home in Walnut Grove