TechBlitz winners announced


  Gadsden City Schools annual TechBlitz was held Friday, May 8 at the Bevill Center on the campus of Gadsden State Community College.

The Best of Show Winner was Jacob Kelley and his project was a Lego Robot that walked and could throw balls.

For the category class/school project, the K-2 grade winners were Theophil Oyassan, Kylie Wise and Kileque Jones from Thompson Elementary for first place, Qhinlayia Hester, Maddy Brown and Ayonna Horton from Adams Elementary for second place, and Reagan Brooks and Colie Webb from Mitchell Elementary for third place. The 3-5 grade winners were Carter Templeton, Mikenlee Brooks tied with Lela Miller and Elissa Turner from Mitchell and Striplin Elementary for first place, Ra’Nyiah Dupree, Tatiyna Wright  and Jacklin Francisco from Adams Elementary for second place, and Reid Tumlin, William Roberts and John Hiller Roberts from Eura Brown Elementary for third place. The 6-8 winners were Angelica Vargus, Linzie Solano and Legacy O’Dell from Emma Samson Middle for first place, Keara Washington, Brianna Woods and Micah Swain from Litchfield Middle for second place, and Jaila Ellis tied with Destiny Nelson, River Underwood and Cameron Moor from  Litchfield and Emma Sansom Middle for third place. The 9-12 grade winners were Arielle McBride, John Dobbins and Ahmad DeRamus from Gadsden City High for first place, David Adcock, Ronald Valencia and Felipe Juarez from GCHS for second place, and Ahmad DeRamus, Carlie Williams and Jalen Swain from GCHS for third place.

In video production, K-5 grade category, Clare Goodwin of Eura Brown won first place, Kameron Baba and Hadley McElroy of Mitchell won second place, and Maleah Pace and D’Quan King of Thompson Elementary won third place. In the 6-8 grade, Maddie Brown and Kate Kiani from Gadsden Middle won first place. In the 9-12 grade, Andrew Panik won first place, David Adcock won second place and Zack Holdbrooks won third place.

In the multimedia, K-2 grade category, Sophia Norris and Roderick Barnes from Striplin Elementary won first place, Jaylin Ezekiel and Aaliyah Davis from Donehoo Elementary won second, and Aiden Gilmore from Mitchell Elementary won third. In the 3-5 grade category, Rachel Reynolds from Eura Brown won first place, Damia Steward and Emma Margai from Striplin won second, and Antoria McCants and Jariah Barkely won third. In the 6-8 grade category, LaTerrance Bush and Antonio McCants from Litchfield middle won first place, David Dobbins and Timothy McElroy from Gadsden Middle won second, and Dashaun Malone from Litchfield won third. In the 9-12 grade category, Adrian Cox from GCHS won first place. 

In the webpage, K-5 grade category, Kayla Powell, Amber Powell and Victoria Roberts from Eura Brown won first place, Aubrey Holland and Ellis Williams from Mitchell won second, and Kathy Juarez from Striplin won third. In the 6-8 grade category, Tobi Akasanya and Lyndsey Cotten from Gadsden Middle won first place, Jonel Bryant and Erica Mendez from Litchlield won second, and Jarius Avery and Guillen Gonzales from Litchfield won third. In Webpage 9-12 grade category, Jaylyn Thomas from GCHS won first place. 

In the other K-5 grade category, Bethany Sandridge and Elijah Dupree from Thompson Elementary won first, Brock Adams from Walnut Park won second, and Kiana Sanders from Mitchell won third.  In the 6-8 grade category, 1st Job Hall and Manuel Vega from Litchfield Middle won first and  Jerrell Wilson and Elijah McCarther from Litchfield Middle won second. In the other 9-12 grade, category Felipe Juarez from GCHS won first place.

Latest News

WEEKEND PLANS: Pedal boat operation now open in Gadsden
Annual Memorial Day event planned for Monday
City of Gadsden launches new text-based 911 feature to assist callers, first responders
City of Gadsden honors nation's fallen with memorial flag displays
Outstanding students honored at Honors Day in Gadsden

Latest Sports News

Locals make all-state soccer teams
All-Etowah County Schools softball released
All-Etowah County Schools baseball announced
Local players named to all-area baseball team
Local athletes, coaches named to compete in North/South games