In & around SEC football


By Cole Frederick

SEC Championship Review
Alabama captured its fifth SEC championship in the last eight seasons in dominating fashion last Saturday (Dec. 3). Florida jumped out to an early 7-0 lead but the Crimson Tide controlled the rest of the game en route to a 54-16 victory. In the first half, Alabama’s defense and special teams each scored, including an interception returned for a touchdown by Minkah Fitzpatrick. Bo Scarbrough carried the ball 11 times for 91 yards and two touchdowns, while Jalen Hurts threw for 138 yards and another score. The Tide defense intercepted Florida quarterback Austin Appleby three times. Alabama (13-0) advanced to the College Football Playoffs, where it will take on Washington at the Georgia Dome on Saturday, Dec. 31. If the UA wins, it will take on the winner of the Clemson-Ohio State game at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla.

All-SEC First Team
Quarterback: Nick Fitzgerald, So., Mississippi State
Running back: Kamryn Pettway, So., Auburn; Derrius Guice, So., LSU
Receiver: ArDarius Stewart, So., Alabama; Christian Kirk, So., Texas A&M
Tight End: Evan Engram, Sr., Ole Miss
Tackle: Avery Gennesy, Sr., Texas A&M; Jonah Williams, Fr., Alabama
Guard: Braden Smith, Jr., Auburn; Will Clapp, So., LSU
Center: Jon Toth, Jr., Kentucky
Kicker: Daniel Carlson, Jr., Auburn

Line: Myles Garrett, Jr., Texas A&M; Jonathan Allen, Sr., Alabama; Carl Lawson, Jr., Auburn; Derek Barnett, Jr., Tennessee
Linebacker: Reuben Foster, Sr., Alabama; Kendell Sr., Beckwith, LSU; Zach Cunningham, Jr., Vanderbilt
Secondary: Minkah Fitzpatrick, So., Alabama; Jalen Tabor, So., Florida; Jamal Adams, Jr., LSU; Tre’Davious White, Sr., LSU
Punter: J.K. Scott, Jr., Alabama
Return Specialist: Christian Kirk, So., Texas A&M

All-SEC Second Team
Quarterback: Josh Dobbs, Sr., Tennessee
Running back: Rawleigh Williams, So., Arkansas; Ralph Webb, Jr., Vanderbilt
Receiver: J’Mon Moore, Jr., Missouri; Fred Ross, Sr., Mississippi State
Tight End: O.J. Howard, Sr., Alabama
Line: Cam Robinson, Jr., Alabama; Ethan Pocic, Sr., LSU; Dan Skipper, Sr., Arkansas; Alex Kozan, Sr., Auburn; Robert Leff, Sr., Auburn
Kicker: Gary Wunderlich, Jr., Ole Miss

Line: Arden Key, So., LSU; Caleb Brantley, Jr., Florida; Montravius Adams, Sr., Auburn; Charles Harris, Jr., Missouri
Linebacker: Jarrad Davis, Sr., Florida; Tim Williams, Sr., Alabama; Ryan Anderson, Sr., Alabama
Secondary: Eddie Jackson, Sr., Alabama; Aarion Penton, Sr., Missouri; Justin Evans, Sr., Texas A&M; Quincy Wilson, Jr., Florida
Punter: Johnny Townshend, Jr., Florida
Return Specialist: Evan Berry, Jr., Tennessee

Coach of the Year
Nick Saban, Alabama

Offensive Player of the Year
Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State

Defensive Player of the Year
Jonathan Allen, Alabama

Freshman of the Year
Jalen Hurts, Alabama

Latest News

Gadsden Pilot Club donates to Sheriff’s Office
Gadsden fire department opens new station
Gadsden/Etowah Chamber hosts women’s conference
County Commission passes record budget of $25 million
Bankston Motor Homes hosts grand opening 

Latest Sports News

Etowah ranked in latest ASWA football poll
Locals make AHSAA Prep Spotlight
Lady Panthers win 13th straight county volleyball title
Southside sweeps Bulldog Twilight Run
Ashville runner breaks own school record at state course